Sunday, August 3, 2014

Year 2014: Five Hakka as Goverment Ministers in Malaysia

THE camaraderie was evident at a recent appreciation dinner organised by the Kuala Lumpur and Selangor Hakka Association.The event at Noble House, Kuala Lumpur, was held to celebrate the appointment of five Hakka members who were appointed to ministerial posts.

These included Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai, Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Dr Wee Ka Siong, Deputy International Trade and Industry Minister Datuk Lee Chee Leong, as well as Senator Datuk Chai Kim Sen and Senator Chong Sin Woon.
Liow and Dr Wee are also MCA president and deputy president, respectively.

KL and Selangor Hakka Association honorary president Tan Sri Ng Teck Fong said the event was held to acknowledge the contributions of the Hakka community in Malaysia.

“This is the first time MCA has had a Hakka president. It is a proud moment for us as both the president and deputy president are from the Hakka community,” he said.

KL and Selangor Association president Datuk Dr Lim Chee Shin said the appointment of five Hakka members would help to represent the Chinese community and address their concerns in Cabinet.
“We hope to encourage the younger generation to contribute to the nation’s growth and for our leaders to be good role models,” he added,


Other notable hakka leaders in the past are Tan Sri Lee Kim Sai (Deputy President MCA). Singapore's Lee Kuan Yew of course a hakka but with peranakan descents.

No comments: